Go Back   Women's Hair Loss Project Forum > Women Helping Women > Open Topic (General)

Old 05-31-2011, 07:24 AM

nadine is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Armour Thyroid

Hi everyone, I am new to the site and am hoping that someone can help me understand what is going on with my hair. I have been losing my hair for over 7 years. 2 months ago when I was prescribed 30 mg of Armour Thyroid eventhough my TSH was in the normal range (4.7). I had many symptoms of hypothyroid but up until now, the doctors wouldn't treat me as hypothyroid because I was still in the "normal" range. I felt better physically almost immediately. However, after 3 weeks on Armour Thyroid I began to experience extreme hair shedding. 300 to 500 hairs a day. My hair has been falling out in clumps and falls out continuously all day. I switched to 15 mgs last week but the shedding continues. It is frightening. Has anyone else had this happen? Should I stay on the Armour and hope my hairloss slows down or get off the Armour immediately? I am so depressed.
Old 05-31-2011, 02:56 PM

ForeverBlue is on a distinguished road

Hi,

The same thing happened to me on Armour. My doctors told me it would get better, and it actually kept getting worse. After about a year and a half on it, and having lost most of my hair, i stopped taking it. My hair has never grown back. I have to wear a wig now. Don't want to scare you, but that was my experience. Doesn't mean it will happen to you, but Thyroid medication can do that. I never found one that would help my hair, and i tried 6 different ones. Now i have to live the rest of mt life with no hair. It has devastated me beyond belief. I never leave my house.