23 years old sudden hair loss, what seemed to work

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by AnneJ, Aug 7, 2011.

1. AnneJ

AnneJ New Member

I am a 23 graduate student, all my life I have had healthy hair... well until 3 months ago. Somehow in the process of a month and a half I realized there was a 3 x 3 area just in the top front of my scalp with almost no hair, it was not one of those clean circles with no hair that are all over the web, mine was a not well defined area with a couple of hairs...

I believe there is no need to explain how I felt... from being a cheerful person at some point I was avoiding to talk with people, I wanted to be invisible.

The very first thing I did was going to the doctor, he did not gave me that one answer that I was looking for, though he prescribed me a blood test (regular and thyroid) and an anti-dandruff shampoo (Nizoral). He said there was not much to do besides that since my skin looked fine and it was unlikely hereditary alopecia (apparently for that to happen my mom should have it as well).

I started using the shampoo and eventually I learned to accept it (without praying for my hair to come back). I got my blood samples and apparently my thyroid is within normal ranges. Then I consulted another doctor, he told me that from his perspective it was likely a bad managed stress problem...
    Around those days it was not only an empty area but I was loosing much more hair after showers and on my pillow after wake up! :(
    So I...

Bought Bach flowers drops, and decided to have a no stress policy (basically : "I care about nothing but my health")
    Fixed my sleep and eating times
    Used the anti-dandruff shampoo every 3 days for 3 weeks
    Quit smoking
    Stopped taking vitamins (I read that excess of vitamin E caused hair loss... and I realized that I was taking two with vitamin E) and switched them for Omega 3 pills.