acupunture and hairloss

Discussion in 'Looking For Advice (my story)' started by MTmamaof2, Oct 3, 2009.

1. MTmamaof2

MTmamaof2 New Member

My acupuncturist is confident she can treat my hair loss and i am considering giving it a shot. has anyone tried this or heard anything about this? I'm starting treatments next week so if anyone has some helpful knowledge please let me know. thanks. this is my first time posting something. i just joined. this seems to be the place for support.
  2. Angela

Angela Moderator

There are a few ladies on the Network that have tried acupuncture, but I don't recall what the results were or if they continued with their sessions.
  3. MTmamaof2

MTmamaof2 New Member

i'm doing it

I'm starting treatments and chinese medicine next week and will be doing it for 3 months. I will make sure to comment on my results and hopefully will be able to find relief for myself and possibly others who want to try this sort of thing.
  4. kso

kso New Member

Hi, MT-
    After 3 infuriating MD appointments, I have decided to give acupuncture a try. My hair loss started in July 2009, or at least that is when I noticed it. It's getting worse and worse by the day, mainly visible at the scalp. I'm a complete wreck about this. I cannot concentrate on anything but my hair.

At first, I self medicated with iron because my ferritin was 11 and I'm a vegetarian. After three weeks of iron, it went up to 21. But, my serum iron and iron sats were off the charts, which freaked me out. I decided to go off the iron for a few weeks and then re-test myself again, along with more comprehensive hormone and thyroid studies. I also made an appointment with a world renowned derm where I live. But, her next appointment isn't until December.