Air Travel and Toppers

Discussion in 'Wigs and Toppers' started by YAC, Feb 12, 2010.

1. YAC

YAC New Member

Hi everyone,

I have been wearing a topper with clips for about 6 months now. I feel good with it on and now it is naturally part of me. Due to work, I need to travel frequently for next few months. Not sure what to do about my hair. The clips on my topper is metal so I cannot wear it through the security checkpoint. I am not yet at the stage of shaving my head to wear any sort of adhesive. Is there any alternative to this option? I dread to take my topper off in public..I guess my last resort is to wear a hat to the airport. Any advice will be helpful. Thanks!
  2. MiaFlores

MiaFlores New Member

I haven't experienced this yet but...it seems to me you can't have been the first woman to go through airport security a topper on. For that matter, bobby pins are metal too, and I've seen women go through security with their hair in buns. (Pretty sure I've done it too.)

I'd be inclined to wear the topper and just be sure you get to the airport with plenty of time to get through security. Depending on the sensitivity of the particular scanner, it may not even pick up the metal (heck, less metal in a couple of those combs than in one key...). If it does, they should pull you out of line to wand you. They'll find no metal in your pockets, etc.--they'll only find metal if they wand your head...and if so, then you discreetly tell the agent that you're wearing a hairpiece for medical reasons and it has toupe combs (if they're REALLY snarky about it, they can feel the combs through the hair if they touch the spots, but I doubt it'd come to that.)