Celiac Disease was causing my hair loss, worth looking into!

Discussion in 'Open Topic (General)' started by kellynm, Jun 24, 2009.

1. kellynm

kellynm New Member

Hello, this is my first time posting but I wanted to share with everyone something I had never heard of before when researching women's hair loss. I have Hashimotos Thyroiditis which caused my hair to thin horribly. But that was fixed years ago and my hair never came back in and continued to slowly thin. In March I just found out I have Celiac Disease, which is actually an auto immune disorder but is usually categorized as a wheat gluten allergy. The damage that is done to your intestines over the years from eating products with wheat gluten and wheat flour inhibits your body from absorbing nutrients from your food, so what little vitamins you do absorb are directed to vital parts of your body. And your hair being an anatomical accessory is starved and is then shed. I am going on 4 months of being on a gluten free diet (which is not fun) but my hair feels great, it is so much thicker already, it is just amazing. So I wanted to share with everyone because in all my research I had never come across this as being a possible cause. I hope this information helps as many of you as it possibly can!

Nicole
  2. vaso

vaso New Member

Hi Nicole that's very interesting about celiac disease and hair loss. I read up on the article and i was able to tick a lot of the symptoms. I was wondering the article links celiac with AA rather than AGA. Do you have AGA or AA? and what kind of things can you eat in your gluten free diet. Many thanks, V.
  3. kellynm

kellynm New Member

Celiac Disease