Currently take 200mg of Aldactone

Discussion in 'Aldactone (Spironolactone)' started by Women's Hair Loss Project, Apr 26, 2009.

1. Women's Hair Loss Project

Women's Hair Loss Project Administrator Staff Member

I currently am taking 200mg of Aldactone, I first started at the 100mg level and increased it a couple years after I began. I'm not an expert on the drug or anything, but if you have any questions about it, please ask, I'm more than happy to answer any questions and share my experience with it.
  2. Ang

Ang New Member

Spiro

How has the aldactone been working for you? Side effects? How long have you been on it?
  3. Women's Hair Loss Project

Women's Hair Loss Project Administrator Staff Member

Hi manpsych. I've on the Aldactone for nearly 9 years. It is hard for me to say definitively if has helped to keep my hair or slow the progression of my thinning because I'm not really sure what state my hair would have been in, had I not taken anything at all. Around 2003 I had decided to stop taking the Aldactone (dosage I was on was 100mg) because I did feel like it was doing nothing since my hair was still shedding. So I stopped it, not too long after my hair started shedding like CRAZY, it was enough to scare me to go back on Aldactone and this time I went on a high dose... 200mg. I'm been on that dosage since then.

As far as side effects the only thing that happened when I began to take it, was that I used to get a little lightheaded and tired, I was told that this could be from a lowered sodium level in my body since Aldactone is also a mild diuretic. So I would carry packets of ketcup with me, or if I was at home I'd eat a pickle. That always perked me right up, so I think the low sodium was an issue for me at first. I suppose my body has since adjusted to the medication because I no longer have those light headed moments.

Hope that helps. :)
  4. rosemary

rosemary New Member