Help with first set of lab results! Thanks in advance!

Discussion in 'Hair Loss Causes' started by mommy2aprincess, Jul 1, 2011.

1. mommy2aprincess

mommy2aprincess New Member

I got my first round of blood tests back. Here are the results and the doctor's comments. Since this was my first visit with him, I want to make sure that what he is saying and recommending is truly best for hair loss. I have had a lot of bad experiences with doctors over the years. I put my comment and questions in parentheses. Thanks for your help!

Your estradiol is 41; most women feel best when it is greater than 50.

Your progesterone is 0.42; most women feel best when it is greater
    than 2.0.

Your total testosterone is 21; normal levels are 6-82

Your free testosterone is 0.14; it should be below 0.1 to help with
    hair loss (This surprised me as I am on spironolactone and Diane 35 so I thought the combination would have this under control! Where do you all try and keep your free testosterone levels to help control hair loss?)

Your ferritin (iron stores) is 85; it should be 13-300.

Your TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) is 0.0; it should be less than 3.5.
    Your free T3 is 4.3; it should be between 1.8-4.6.
    Your free T4 is 1.82; it should be between 0.8-1.8.
    Your thyroid is severely over active: the lower your TSH, the more
    thyroid you have in your body.
    I am going to reduce your Armour thyroid to 90mg.
    Women can often have hair loss if their thyroid is over active.