My long story

Discussion in 'Looking For Advice (my story)' started by jett, Sep 18, 2009.

1. jett

jett New Member

I've been lurking here for a bit and I figured I may as well put my dirty laundry out too.

I am 29 years old and have had relatively thick hair all of my life. I used to have to use a paddle brush to brush my hair it was so long and thick, at the time I thought it was a pain to take care of. When I was 15 my mom convinced me to perm my poker-straight hair and ever since it has been curly, though my younger brother and sister have naturally curly hair. At 16 my mom decided I was out of control and took me to the doctor who put me on birth control pills. I was a straight A student with early acceptances to Ivy League schools, all that changed though. The first pill the doctor put me on was Aleese which I reacted poorly to, I started to become depressed and all the uncaring about yourself which goes with that. I also ended up with cystic acne all of a sudden so the doctor changed my pill to Ortho-Tricyclin which worked out a lot better for me. Please note, I do not have any sort of PCOS or endo or anything. I have a religiously regular schedule, no cramps and not heavy periods…
    Insert a lot of stress in my life between 16 and 20, culminating to not getting to go to college, getting kicked out of my parent’s house twice and ended up living in Reno with a boyfriend because I had nowhere else to go. In an act of childish rebellion I cut my hair short into an A-line bob and shaved about an inch and a half of the back of my head. (My Dad’s culture values long hair as a sign of fertility and I refused arranged marriages). My hair was never as thick as it had been before this, which at the time I was happy about because such heavy and long hair had been contributing to my migraines.