Outed at work

Discussion in 'Rants and Venting' started by Marion, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Marion

Marion New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, so this is kind of an introduction as well as a rant ;). I'm sorry my post is so long!

Although I'm a newbie on this forum, I'm not new to hair loss. I am 26, and I have been dealing with hair loss for almost 10 years now. It started with cicatrical alopecia and it eventually developed into AGA (androgenetic alopecia, is that how you call it here?). I suspect stress also had something to do with it.

I was able to hide it well for the first few years, but by the time I was 22, it was very hard to hide it. I was also tired of feeling obsessed with my hair, and constantly depressed.

That year, my father got diagnosed with leukemia, and he died just a few months after learning he was sick. I think I lost more hair during that stressful period. After my dad passed away, I decided that it was time to shave my head. I had just lost my favourite person in the world, so shaving my head at that point was really not that big of a deal. I was ready.

So for the last 4 years, I have been wearing full lace wigs after shaving what was left of my hair. I am very thankful for lace wigs. They look very natural, and most people don't realize it's not your real hair.

Of course, some people do realize it's not your hair, and this is what my rant is about...

Since I started to "wear hair", I have sometimes notice people staring at the top of my head. These people are always women. Usually, they don't say anything, and I don't say anything either. It's fine. I don’t mind that people know; I just don’t want to be put on the spot.

I am a very reserved person, and I don't like to talk about my hair loss. In fact, I don't talk about it openly at all. It’s a painful topic. The only people I have talked about it with are my close friends and family members. I haven’t told my work colleagues about my hair.