Shedding!

Discussion in 'Hair Loss Causes' started by Constantlydevastated, Sep 4, 2009.

1. Does anyone know if using minoxidil increases hair shedding? I am going through an aggressive shedding, and my doctor recently increased my minoxidil dose. I have been using it for about 2 months at this strength, and a few days ago my aggressive shedding became an avalanche. I was told that this happens, although not sure how or why. Any answers? thanks...
  2. VictoriaG

VictoriaG New Member

I personally don't know, I'm sorry, but there is a Rogaine group over on the Network., I'm sure you can find your answer there, if you don't find it here on the forum. Good luck.
  3. Brooke1215

Brooke1215 New Member

I personally experienced an extremely dramatic shed when I tried rogaine 2 years ago. My hair came out in CLUMPS. It was bad enough to scare me away from it forever. It doesn't do that to everyone, and it's supposed to eventually stop, but I couldn't risk it!
  4. ripples

ripples New Member

shedding

Hello, I've been diagnosed with low thyroid and my MD put me on thyroid medication (levo) at first I started out shedding and dry, brittle hair, but now I'm losing hair on a daily basis with a clump of hair that I find upon cleaning the tub drain. I called my doctor who then put me on a steroid cream in which it read that at first you may experience shedding. I refused to use the cream based on possible side effects and looked into Rogaine. If you read all the info or go on-line, it will tell you that shedding might occur at first which means the product is working. I have not tried Rogaine yet and was wondering if any one out there with thyroid problems who were put on levothyroxine experienced more hair loss and did it subside after a few months as your body got adjusted to it. I'ts my first experience with hair loss and pretty scary! I'd love some in put from women out there dealing with the same problem
  5. msmel

msmel New Member