What would do?

Discussion in 'Looking For Advice (my story)' started by happytobeme, May 20, 2009.

1. happytobeme

happytobeme New Member

Hi, I am very new to hair loss. About 5 weeks ago, I noticed I was losing alot of hair, but thought it was just the "change of season". Then 3 weeks ago, I lost so much hair in the shower that I got scared. I realized that I bald patches and by the following week, I could not wear my hair in a style that did not reveal baldness. :( I went to my primary care physician who did not even look at my head, but sent me on my way to get blood work- all of which came back fine. I then went to the dermatologist. He diagnosed me with telegon effluvium. At first I accepted this diagnosis, but researching it more on the internet and thinking about my situation, I am really starting to question if I have this. I have not been under severe stress, no medication changes, I have had the same job, no close family deaths, no operations. He feels that its stress, but I feel that stress so significant I would realize I have. I know what stress feels like because for the 2 weeks I watched my hair fall out in droves, I did feel stressed. I lost so much hair that I decided to shave it off and start fresh. Got a nice wig that I am struggling to get used too, but like all things, it will take time. It was too depressing to watch it fall out, plus I thought I looked pretty sickly with so many patches. Should I seek out another opinion? Are there any other tests I should request? More detailed thyroid tests? etc? Anyone else been a similar situation?:) Thanks
  2. finaleofseem

finaleofseem New Member

Wow -- that happened really fast! Question for you: are your bald patches kind of circular? And are they completely bald? Because if you're losing hair THAT quickly, it could be alopecia areata, which is an autoimmune condition.
  3. happytobeme

happytobeme New Member

Hope the picture attached